Rock Or Bust

In the beginning, back in nineteen fifty five
Man didn’t know about a rock ‘n’ roll show and all that jive
The white man had the smoltz, the black man had the blues
No one knew what they was gonna do
But Tchaikovsky had the news
He said:

Let there be sound, and there was sound
Let there be light, and there was light
Let there be drums, and there was drums
Let there be guitar, and there was guitar
Let there be rock

And it came to pass that Rock and Roll was born

If you don’t know AC/DC, go educate yourself. Now.

ill-wait

This band wrote some of the most iconic rock to come out of… ever. Seriously, so good. This is high energy, head-banging, air-guitar jamming, blaring in the car, awesome music. I mean, seriously, I would all but die to go to an AC/DC show, and I am insanely jealous of anyone who has. They are still touring, I’m pretty sure. They don’t have any shows listed right now, but they had live shows last year; that’s more than 4 decades of performing, and severely impressive.

When I started listening to their stuff for this project, I knew the singles mostly. And that’s great, nothing wrong with that. But then a track would come on, and my response was frequently either “holy crap, this song is amazing, how come I didn’t know it before?!” or “wait, this song is AC/DC too?”

Image result for facepalm

I am positive anyone reading this blog have heard many of their songs in movies or on the radio and didn’t realize it, even if you are a fan. The Iron Man movies wouldn’t have been nearly as good without the soundtrack which heavily features AC/DC. I mean, anything backed with the opening chords and drums from “Back In Black” is automatically awesome. And everybody loves Megamind, it had a very clever use of the song “Highway to Hell” (though to be honest, the scene near the climax with “Welcome To The Jungle” by Guns’nRoses was my favorite)

I don’t know all the words to all of these songs, but anytime it comes on, I just have to crank it up and bust out my best air guitar.

Image result for rocking out

This is great jam music. It’s also great working music, and is definitely on my work playlists. If I started going to the gym again (and decided not to listen to podcasts) this might be on that playlist as well. It really gets your heart pumping, and makes you want to tackle whatever you’ve got to do head on.

I had the opportunity to play an 80’s themed dance with a former band once, and we made sure to add “T.N.T.” onto our setlist (regardless if it was technically from the 70’s). So much fun!

So the moral of the story is go listen to AC/DC right now. You’re welcome. And for those about to rock: I salute you.

Image result for ac dc

P.S. If you don’t already know and are curious, the name AC/DC comes from the two common types of electrical current. It’s an abbreviation of alternating current/direct current. A fitting name for a band with such high energy.

Leave a Reply

